*misadventures of a new homeowner*

4 05 2011

so this week i bought a house!! lucky you- i have a whole new category of posts that i’ll be able to write, now that i’m a homeowner. i mean, i thought it was super cool that i now i had my own house, my own little fenced-in yard, my own garage, my own SPACE. i didn’t really know (even though it was floating around in the back of my mind) the extent to which i was actually gonna have to be in charge of all all of this… stuff. so here we are, the beginning of an era, jamila the homeowner, clueless, adventurous, and super pumped.

MINE!!!

so since i’m being super stubborn and decided not to have an official “moving day” and to try to move over the course of a month (silly, silly girl that i am), i’ve been able to move a total of two carloads of stuff to my new house over the past two days. it’s barely a drop in the bucket. (don’t worry; i feel that a moving truck will play a huge part in my near future.)

i am lucky to have so much space in my house, but it looks like a big empty hole at the moment. i have yet to bring a piece of furniture over. my dad just LOVED that last night- he brought me a pizza (favorite! pepperoni for me!) and we had to stand up and eat. fine by me, of course, but i suppose i should think of my guests and at least have a camp chair available for “emergencies” such as Pizza Night. workin on it, dad!

i’m really glad my dad came to see the place last night, actually… yeah, he’d seen it before, but this was the first time as MY house. i didn’t know exactly what he was gonna look at, since i didn’t have much moved in yet, but in typical dad fashion, it turned into an educational and valuable visit. it was the first installment, an orientation if you will, of Little Girl Homeowner 101 in which i got to learn such things as, for example, which pipes are for hot and cold water. where the water shut-off valves (is that what they’re called??) are for my outside water spigots as well as for my washer and dryer (did you know you should turn off your washer water every time you go on vacay? avoid floods, people!!). i even discovered something as remote as where the power to the vintage 90’s intercom  is in my basement.

other things i’ve learned so far (mostly through the keen observations of my dad):

  • i will have to figure out my fuse box because the previous owners did not leave a list of which fuse is for which thing. if anyone wants to play with some walkie talkies one day soon, lemme know. oh, and i should also put the fuse box cover back on the fuse box so i don’t shock myself into the next life.
  • there are two parts to an air duct. one gives you AC and heat, the other one sucks air out of the room. my guest bedroom only has the “sucker” kind of vent. future guests, this is your fair warning! (don’t worry, there’s a fan.)
  • where the gas lines go.
  • where i can put new electrical sockets in my basement if i want.
  • how to operate my dehumidifier in the basement.
  • that there are three locks inside the house that are, at the same time, installed backwards and don’t have a key. awesome.
  • i can’t change the lock on my bedroom door (one of these three without a key)… most likely because paint around the knob has sealed it in… for now. sweet.
  • that there is a definite problem with one part of my gutter right outside my basement door  because it was not draining properly. and i got soaking wet when i opened the door in the rainstorm.
  • i can’t unscrew a simple shower head by myself. even with the help of a wrench.
  • the carpet is quite comfy. this is where i went to lay down and feel sorry for myself immediately after realizing i couldn’t change the shower head myself.
  • about the heaviest thing i can move in by myself is my tv. at least that’s taken care of now. and, you’ll be proud- no, i didn’t trip even once.
  • this one is courtesy of my sister’s finger: yes, the hot water dispenser really does dispense really hot water. (the hot water dispenser says “you’re welcome.”)

for two days in, i think i’ve learned a lot. i will be keeping record of all of my misdaventures for your delight and reading pleasure, world. this is gonna be a fun 30 years. 2041 here i come!

peace,
James

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

